Lee County

For years, Lee County has been a leading tourist destination, as well as a winter home for many northern residents. Thomas Edison once made his winter home in Florida. Today Edison's home has become a museum and has thousands of visitors and local residents tour the home each year.

Lee County is the highest population county in Southwest Florida.

Created in 1887, Lee County was named for American Civil War Confederate General Robert E. Lee.

Lee County consists of five municipalities; Fort Myers, Cape Coral, Bonita Springs, Fort Myers Beach, and Sanibel. The county also has a multitude of unincorporated areas such as; Lehigh Acres, Captiva Island, Alva, Estero and more.

Lee County's primary airport is the Southwest Florida International Airport. The airport also serves as the primary airport for the entire region. Southwest Florida International Airport serves over 7.6 million passengers annually.

The major interstate running through Lee County is Interstate 75, which runs north and south through the county.

Lee County is the spring training home for the Boston Red Sox and the Minnesota Twins.

Municipalities & Other Areas in Lee County

Lee County Demographics

According to the 2010 census report, the population of Lee County is 618,754 people, an increase of 40.3% since 2000. There are 371,099 total homes with 184,477occupied by owner.

The racial makeup of Lee County in 2010 was;

  • 83.0% Non-Hispanic White
  • 8.3% African-American
  • 18.3% Hispanic
  • .4% American Indian
  • 1.4% Asian
  • 2.1% reporting two or more races

Lee County Government

Lee County government is made up of five County Commissioners. Each commissioner is elected at large for a four-year term of office. Lee County also has a County Manager. The Board of Commissioners appoints the County Manager.

Lee County Schools

Public schools are under the direction of the Lee County School District.